Double delight for R Ashwin at ICC Annual Awards

Double delight for R Ashwin at ICC Annual Awards
By: Author
22 December 2016

R Ashwin turned into the third Indian player to win Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in the wake of being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. 

It ended up being twofold joy for Ravichandran Ashwin at the ICC Annual Awards as he turned out to be just the third Indian player ever to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in the wake of being named the ICC Cricketer of the Year other than the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. 

The off-spinner in this way turned into the third India player and twelfth in general to win the prestigious Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy 

Ashwin follows in the strides of Rahul Dravid (2004) and Sachin Tendulkar (2010), while different beneficiaries of the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy incorporate Andrew Flintoff and Jacques Kallis (joint-champs in 2005), Ricky Ponting (2006 and 2007), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Mitchell Johnson (2009 and 2014), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012), Michael Clarke (2013) and Steve Smith (2015). 

Ashwin was additionally declared the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year, which has made him just the second India player after Dravid (2004) to pack the two pined for prizes around the same time. 

Kallis (2005), Ponting (2006), Sangakkara (2012), Clarke (2013), Johnson (2014) and Smith (2015) are alternate players to add both the honors around the same time. 

Amid the voting time frame, which kept running from September 14,2015 to September 20, 2016, the 30-year-old off-spinner from Chennai played eight Tests in which he took 48 wickets and scored 336 runs. Ashwin additionally asserted 27 wickets in 19 T20Is. 

Ashwin had completed 2015 as the main positioned Test bowler on the planet, a position he twice recovered in 2016. 

Responding to the news, an enchanted Ashwin said: "It's an outright delight to be granted with this amazing privilege. It feels incredible to take after any semblance of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid in being named as the ICC Cricketer of the Year. To likewise win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year improves it even. 

"There are many individuals to thank for this great accomplishment I have made. It has been an extraordinary couple of years however this year has been considerably more unique. What is extremely perceptible is the way I have knocked down some pins and batted and the way I have approached doing my business. Additionally critical, to the extent I am concerned, is the quantity of individuals who have gone behind my prosperity. 

"I'd get a kick out of the chance to commit this honor to my family. I'd jump at the chance to express gratitude toward ICC and in particular my colleagues. I'd likewise get a kick out of the chance to thank the bolster staff for our prosperity. We've had an extraordinary move as far back as Mahendra Singh Dhoni hung up his boots. 

A youthful (Test) chief (Virat Kohli) has assumed control, we fell destined for success, and we now have another group of young men," he included. 

ICC Chief Executive David Richardson saluted Ashwin on his fantastic season. 

"It has been a vital period for Ashwin, whose reliable all-round and coordinate winning exhibitions have been reflected in the MRF player rankings. He is legitimately now being considered as a real part of the best spinners of his era," Richardson said. 

"To win both the ICC Cricketer of the Year and ICC Test Cricketer of the Year honors is a noteworthy achievement. Ashwin's exhibitions represent themselves and he is a meriting beneficiary of the distinctions. I salute him in the interest of the ICC." 

Among different honors, South Africa's wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock was named ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. He is the second South Africa player after AB de Villiers (2010, 2014 and 2015) and ninth in general to secure this honor. 

In the voting time frame, de Kock scored 793 keeps running in 16 ODIs with four centuries and a half-century. He arrived at the midpoint of more than 56 and held a strike-rate of just shy of 98. With the gloves, de Kock rejected 15 batsmen behind the wickets. 

In addition, West Indies' Carlos Brathwaite won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year grant for his match-winning 34 not out off 10 balls in the ICC World Twenty20 India 2016 last against England in Kolkata. 

The innings included four sequential sixes in the last over, which helped the West Indies grab triumph from the jaws of annihilation. The 24-year-old from Barbados is the main West Indies cricketer to win this honor. 

Bangladesh quick rocking the bowling alley sensation Mustafizur Rahman was named ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year grant. In the period under thought, Mustafizur played three ODIs and took eight wickets, while he yielded 19 wickets in 10 T20Is. He is the principal Bangladesh cricketer to win a yearly ICC grant. 

Afghanistan's showy wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad additionally won the ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year after he completed as the main ODI run-scorer with 699 keeps running in 16 one-day matches. 

Shahzad likewise scored 301 keeps running in four innings of three ICC Intercontinental Cup top of the line matches furthermore contributed 533 keeps running in 17 T20Is. He is the primary Afghanistan player to win this honor which serves to perceive and compensate the endeavors in all global matches of extraordinary cricketers from groups outside the 10 Test countries.

Popular News
Fashion News
Sports News
Health News